skip to main content

Friends of Education Award

The Friends of Education Award was established by the Board of Education to recognize and show appreciation to those who have made exemplary contributions to Howard County public education and to increase awareness of the importance of community involvement to the achievement of the school system’s Strategic Call to Action plan. Any Howard County resident or non-profit group, organization, association, or business located in or serving Howard County who has not already been a recipient, may be nominated for the award.

Who Does the Award Recognize?

The Friends of Education Award recognizes an individual, business, or non-profit group, organization, or association for an innovative or unique contribution that:


The nomination deadline is Monday, Feb. 7, 2022. Nominations may be submitted online or by contacting the Board of Education office at 410-313-1584.

Nominees and recipients will be notified by March 7, and awards are scheduled to be presented during the Board of Education meeting on April 7.

Who May Nominate?

Any employee of the Howard County Public School System, Howard County resident or member of a group, organization, association or business located in or serving Howard County may submit a nomination.

What is Required for Nomination?

A complete Friends of Education Award application and three current signed letters of recommendation are required to submit a nomination. During the nomination period, nominators can obtain the required application by contacting the Executive Assistant to the Board of Education 410-313-1584 or completing the application online.

2021 Award Recipient

Kiwanis Club of Ellicott City

The Kiwanis Club of Ellicott City (represented by President Jenn Hiscock) has been passionate in its support for Howard County students since the club was chartered in 1940. Members of the club provide extensive support for students through multiple commitments, including sponsorship of Key Clubs at Atholton, Centennial, Glenelg, Marriotts Ridge, Mt. Hebron and River Hill high schools, through which hundreds of student participants contribute many hours of service to the community each year. Additionally, the Kiwanis Club sponsors the Backpacks for Break service initiative with Cradlerock Elementary School and Lake Elkhorn Middle School, as well as a Terrific Kids recognition program at Bryant Woods Elementary School.

Read more about the 2021 recipient and nominee→

View previous award recipients

2021 Friends of Education recipients posing with award