skip to main content

Supporting the Mission and Goals of HCPSS through Leadership

The mission of the Howard County Board of Education (BOE) is to provide leadership for excellence in teaching and learning by fostering a climate for deliberative change through policy and community engagement.

Watch Meetings

Participate in a Meeting

Contact the Board

Meeting Schedules

Board meetings may be viewed live or on-demand online, and during and after each meeting on Howard County Comcast channel 95 or Verizon channel 42. Upcoming Public Hearings can be found online.

Individuals may request a sign language interpreter for any meeting of the Board of Education by contacting Colleen Markiewicz, interpreter scheduler, at 410-313-7046. A two-week advance notice is preferred.

Board meeting documents are available to the public for viewing on BoardDocs three days prior to the meeting. If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the Board Office.

Upcoming Board of Education Meetings:

  • Thursday, January 27, 4 & 7 p.m. – Hybrid Meeting
  • Thursday, February 10, 4 & 7 p.m. – Hybrid Meeting
  • Thursday, February 24, 4 & 7 p.m. – Hybrid Meeting
  • See below for additional budget work sessions

Board of Education Budget Schedule

The Board of Education holds work sessions and public hearings to gather feedback on, and revise the Superintendent’s proposed budget. View Schedule →

Full Board of Education Schedule

Approved Board schedules can be found in the links below.

Friends of Education Award

The Friends of Education Award recognizes an individual, business, or organization for an innovative or unique contribution that directly supports the school system’s mission of excellence in teaching and learning

Learn more about the award →

Current Board of Education Members

Please select a name below for biographic and contact information.

Antonia Watts, Vice Chair
Peter Banyas, Student Board Member