skip to main content

Interim Superintendent Announces New Leadership Appointments

Posted: July 18th, 2017

Howard County Public School System (HCPSS) Interim Superintendent Michael J. Martirano has announced new additions to his leadership team. The appointments were presented to the Howard County Board of Education during its July 18 meeting, and go into effect on August 3, 2017.

Rafiu Ighile was appointed Chief Business and Technology Officer, overseeing all financial and technology operations and ensuring responsible stewardship of school system resources. Ighile currently serves as Deputy Director of Finance, Howard County Government. He previously served as Bureau Chief/Controller for Howard County Government, and held controller roles at the American Trucking Association, National Children’s Center Inc., and the Lt. Joseph P. Kennedy Institute.

Frank Eastham was named Chief School Management and Instructional Leadership Officer, overseeing a vertical educational delivery model that encompasses preschool through Grade 12. Eastham is currently Executive Director of School Administration and Improvement, previously served as principal at Oakland Mills High School and the Homewood Center, and began his career as a Special Education teacher at Hammond High School.

William Barnes was named Chief Academic Officer, overseeing shared accountability, curriculum and instruction, special education, and student services. Barnes’ current role is Director of Secondary and Pre-K–12 Curricular Programs. He previously served as Coordinator of Secondary Mathematics for HCPSS, and as a team leader and teacher in Baltimore County schools.

Jahantab Siddiqui was appointed Chief Communication, Community/Workforce Engagement Officer, overseeing communications, workforce engagement and partner engagement. Siddiqui is currently Deputy Chief of Staff for the Howard County Executive; served previously in communications, budget and legislative roles for Howard and Montgomery counties and other organizations; and was a Special Assistant to U.S. Senator Barbara A. Mikulski.

The new appointments round out Martirano’s senior leadership team, which also includes appointments announced on June 22.

Three new Community Superintendents, Birth–Grade 12, were also announced, each overseeing a regional cluster of elementary, middle and high schools. These include Theo Cramer, who currently serves as Executive Director of the Division of Human Resources, Prince George’s County Public Schools; Marcy Leonard, currently principal at Hammond High School; and Patrick Saunderson, currently principal at Reservoir High School.

James LeMon was appointed Executive Director of Community, Parent and School Outreach. LeMon is currently principal at Wilde Lake High School.

Jason McCoy was named Performance, Equity, and Community Response Officer. He currently serves as principal, Cradlerock Elementary School.