skip to main content

Staff Recognition

Washington Post Awards

Each year The Washington Post honors the region’s finest principals and educators with the Principal of the Year and Teacher of the Year awards, formerly the Distinguished Educational Leadership Award and Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award, respectively. These awards recognize those who go beyond the day-to-day demands of their position to create an exceptional educational environment.

2016-17 HCPSS Winners/Washington Post Finalists

Howard County Teacher of the Year
Maddy Halbach, Applications and Research Lab

Maddy Halbach with students

Howard County Principal of the Year
Troy Todd, Running Brook Elementary School

Troy Todd standing in gym with students in the background

2016-17 HCPSS Finalists

Teacher of the Year

  • Rosheeda Brooks-Samuel, Talbott Springs Elementary School
  • Laura Ciarrocchi, Talbott Springs Elementary School
  • Octavia Cutsail, Mount View Middle School
  • Benjamin Denne, Ellicott Mills Middle School
  • Lewis Dutrow, Wilde Lake High School
  • Trish Ewart, Mt. Hebron High School
  • Brittany Franckowiak, Wilde Lake High School
  • Jennifer Hamilton, Oakland Mills Middle School
  • Shelley Heinz-Buehlman, Bonnie Branch Middle School
  • Philip Herdman, Clarksville Middle School
  • Amy Lauer, Talbott Springs Elementary School
  • Tyler Meinhart, Marriotts Ridge High School
  • Kathleen Niederhauser, Fulton Elementary School
  • Tolly Peddicord, St. John’s Lane Elementary School
  • Robert Piche, Atholton High School
  • Nathan Rosen, Atholton High School
  • Jacquie Sica, Burleigh Manor Middle School
  • Suzanne Stafford, Mt. Hebron High School
  • Jamie Stavinski, Oakland Mills High School
  • Kelly Storr, Glenwood Middle School

Principal of The Year

  • Kathy Jacobs, Waverly Elementary School
  • James LeMon, Wilde Lake High School
  • Vicky Sarro, St. John’s Lane Elementary School
  • Karl Schindler, Applications and Research Laboratory