skip to main content

Health Education Units

Family Life And Human Sexuality Unit

Howard County public schools provide meaningful units in health education entitled Family Life and Human Sexuality for Grades 5 through 8.

Maryland State Board of Education Regulation 13A.04.01 states that: “It is the responsibility of the local school system to provide a comprehensive program of Family Life and Human Sexuality as a part of a total health program. This program shall adhere to the Standards and Procedures adopted by the Maryland State Board of Education.”

Due to the sensitive nature of this instruction, as directed by the Maryland State Regulation (COMAR 13A.04.18.03), written parental permission is required prior to student participation in the unit. In preparation for the unit, parents will receive a notification letter which includes the unit objectives and a participation permission slip.

Unit Objectives By Grade

Notification Materials

Parents will receive notification materials in advance of the unit.


Howard County public schools provide instruction on HIV/AIDS in Health Education in grades six through nine.

The Maryland State Board of Education requires that each school system provide instruction about the Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) “at least once in grades three to six, six to nine, and nine to twelve” (COMAR 13A.04.18).

Instruction addressing HIV/AIDS is taught as part of the formal Health Education curriculum in grade 6, 8, and 9. Parents may exclude their child from instruction in HIV/AIDS prevention in Health Education by completing an HIV/AIDS Exclusion Form (PDF)