skip to main content

HCPSS Congratulates Eight National Board Certified Teachers

Posted: May 5th, 2017

National Board Certification is the highest-level credential in the educational profession. Teachers who achieve National Board Certification have met rigorous standards through intensive study, self-assessment, peer review and expert evaluation.

Group of National Board Certified Teachers with Board Chairman and Superintendent Dr. Martirano
From left: Board Chairman Cynthia L. Vaillancourt, Stephanie Coleman, Dr. Janice Doherty, Kimberly Butler, Doug Lea, Paige Zimmer, Acting HCPSS Superintendent Michael J. Martirano. Not pictured: Jocelyn Martin and Louis West.

At the May 4 Board of Education meeting, HCPSS recognized eight teachers who achieved certification in November—one first-time achiever and seven who have renewed their certification. Howard County has one of the highest numbers of National Board Certified Teachers among Maryland districts, with a total of 152 teachers who have achieved national certification.

The newly certified achiever is Stephanie Coleman, a secondary reading teacher at Ellicott Mills Middle School.

The renewal achievers are:

The HCPSS NBC program is a joint partnership with Maryland State Department of Education. The school system combines resources with the state department to support candidates through a scholarship program that includes Saturday support sessions. The school system also has a partnership agreement with National University, which has a Masters Program that includes course work on National Board Certification.