Contact Us | Directions  |  Site

Contact Us  |  Driving Directions

Howard County Public School System
Quick Links

Quick Links

 :: Vision 2018
 :: BoardDocs
 :: Budget
 :: Bullying Prevention
 :: Common Core
 :: Forms
 :: Kindergarten Registration
 :: New Teacher Orientation 2014
 :: Ombudsman Services
 :: Partnerships
 :: Policies and Procedures
 :: Public Information Requests
 :: Publications
 :: Safe Schools
 :: School Meals
 :: School Performances
 :: Summer Programs 2014
 :: Teacher Recruitment
 :: Test Scores
 :: TV Programming Guide
 :: Use of School Facilities
 :: Vendor Payments
 :: Weekly News for Parents



 :: For Parents and Community
 :: Student Resources
 :: Employee Resources

 :: Purchasing

AP Honor Roll logo





















Employee Information Staff Directory Support Services
Staff Recognition Benefits Retiree Benefits

Staff Recognition


For additional information about HCPSS staff recognition awards:

Washington Post Awards

The Washington Post annually honors the region's finest principals and educators with the Distinguished Educational Leadership Award and the Agnes Myer Outstanding Teacher Award. These awards recognize those who go beyond the day-to-day demands of their position to create an exceptional educational environment.

2013-14 Washington Post Award Winners

Howard County Teacher of the Year / Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher
Jody Zepp, Hammond MS

Distinguished Educational Leadership Award
Gina Massella, Howard HS

2013-14 Washington Post Nominees

Agnes Meyer

  • Diana Alvarado - River Hill HS
  • Greg English - Reservoir HS
  • Catherine Mundy - Lime Kiln MS
  • Jason Piluk - Centennial HS
  • Vann Prime - Mt. Hebron HS
  • Kelly Ryan - Veterans ES
  • Phillip Singleton - Glenelg HS

Distinguished Educational Leadership Award

  • Heidi Balter - Ducketts Lane ES
  • Tina Maddox - Homewood Center
  • Ron Morris - Stevens Forest ES
  • Paul Owens - Cedar Lane School

Crystal Flame Awards

(Celebrating World Class Achievement in Howard County Public Schools)

The Crystal Flame Awards recognize achievements by HCPSS staff in four areas considered strategically important to school system success. These awards also represent a new direction for Staff Recognition Awards based on the following criteria:

  • Awards are based on demonstrated achievements.
  • Groups (schools, committees, offices, teams, etc.) may be recognized, as well as individuals.
  • All staff contributing to an achievement are eligible, regardless of position.
  • A streamlined nomination process emphasizes results.

2013-14 Crystal Flame Award Winners

Crystal Flame Award, Goal 1: Students
Cheryl Hartman and Florence Smith, Paraeducators, Jeffers Hill ES

Crystal Flame Award, Goal 2: Staff
Oakland Mills MS Positive Climate Committee

Front row (left to right): Janel Eldridge, Beth Hamme, Faria Nazrul, Meghan Walker

Back row (left to right): Raissa Howera, Kate Zimmer, Jessica DiBenedetto

Crystal Flame Award, Goal 3: Families and the Community
Judy Pattik, Coordinator in the Office of Special Education

Crystal Flame Award, Goal 4: Organization
Danielle Dunn, Media Specialist, Hammond HS

2013-14 Crystal Flame Award Nominees

Goal 1: Students

  • Stanley Arnold - Hammond HS
  • Glenelg High School Academic Life Skills Team
  • Ben Thompson - Veterans Elementary School
  • Jennifer Feldman - Bellows Springs ES

Goal 2: Staff

  • Elizabeth Stocklin - Hammond HS
  • Secondary Literacy Coaches - Office of Secondary English/Language Arts
  • Dayton Oaks Elementary School Regional Early Childhood Staff

Goal 3: Families and Community

  • Christine McGonigal and Kym Young - Hammond HS


Home > Employee Information > Staff Recognition

Howard County Public School System © 2014 — Howard County, Maryland