skip to main content

Maryland Integrated Science Assessment (MISA)

Maryland Integrated Science Assessment (MISA) is Maryland’s new NGSS-aligned standardized science assessment. MISA replaces the MSA Science and HSA Biology tests in all Maryland schools and will be phased in beginning in 2017.

Elementary and middle school students take the MISA in Grades 5 and 8. High school students take the MISA after successfully completing high school coursework in all three main science disciplines: earth/space science, life science (biology), and physical science (chemistry and physics). Most students will take the MISA in Grade 11.

Watch our HCPSS Insight on Next Generation Science Standards →

MISA Timeline

2016–17 and 2017–18 School Years
All Maryland students in Grades 5 and 8 will participate in MISA field testing (no individual scoring).
2018–19 School Year
High school students will first take MISA, but will not be required to pass. Individual MISA scoring begins for Grades 5 and 8.
Class of 2020
MISA participation will be a graduation requirement for the Class of 2020 (current 9th graders).
Class of 2021 and After
Beginning with the Class of 2021 (current 8th graders), a MISA pass score will be a graduation requirement for all cohorts. Pass scores will be set by the Maryland Department of Education (MSDE).

The Science MSA was administered for the last time during 2015–16. Only the following students in Grades 9–12 will take the Biology HSA this year: